Member Stories

Learn more about ARVO members' research, their contributions to the eye and vision science community.

Reflections from MIT Trustee Megan Capozzi
As an MIT, have you ever been overwhelmed by all there is to do at the ARVO Annual Meeting?  Read more.

Expanding connections and influence
David Beebe, PhD, FARVO, has been selected for the 2015 Joanne G. Angle Award. Read more.

Get to know John Clark, ARVO president-elect
John Clark, PhD, FARVO, will serve as ARVO's 2015 - 2016 president. Read more.

Moving imaging technologies to the market
Shortly after submitting multiple National Eye Institute (NEI) Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) applications and ARVO Annual Meeting abstracts, Simon Barriga, PhD, and Peter Soliz, PhD, sat down with ARVONews to talk about their company, VisionQuest Biomedical. Read more.

Research fellow climbs Capitol Hill for funding
ARVO Member-in-training Adiv Johnson, PhD, visits Capitol Hill for the first time to talk about his work and the role of government funding plays in his current and future career. Read more.

Follow your passion
Maureen A. McCall, PhD, offers insight into her multi-faceted career and advice for scientists wanting to move ahead in the field. Read more.

Doing things differently: New models for support and collaboration
Entreprenuerialism is alive and well in eye research, with some institutions establishing truly alternative sources of funding and ways of doing research. Read more

Justin Hanes, PhD
Hanes discusses the research and resources currently behind GrayBug, a company that has received three NIH Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) grants. Read more.

Meet the new Trustees
Raymond A. Applegate, OD, PhD, FARVO; Andrew D. Dick, MBBS, MD, FMedSci and Steven J. Fliesler, PhD, FARVO have joined the Board of Trustees. They open up to ARVONews about their plans, ambitions and themselves. Read more.

Vemuganti counsels young researchers to "Give your best" professionally and personally
Geeta K. Vemuganti shares with ARVONews her inspirations, highlights and advice as a woman scientist in the field of ophthalmology. Read more

2014 Champalimaud Award recipients
Seven ARVO members received the Champalimaud Vision Award for their groundbreaking work to treat AMD and diabetic retinopathy, the most important causes of blindness in high and middle income countries. Read more.   

Deborah Carper, PhD
The first female deputy director at the National Eye Institute (NEI), Carper retired at the end of May after 40 years at the National Institutes of Health. In addition to senior management, her distinguished career at NEI encompassed research, publishing and mentoring, and she has been a long-time ARVO member and contributor. Read more.

Phoenix research labs