Awards and Grants

The ARVO Foundation offers a number of awards to recognize the best and brightest in eye and vision research, and to assist vision scientists and eye researchers in their efforts to stay abreast of the latest trends. The Foundation offerings include specialty awards and travel grants. Some awards and fellowships are reviewed by the ARVO Foundation Awards Committee.

ARVO Foundation Awards Committee
Emily Y. Chew, MD, FARVO - Chair
Usha Chakravarthy, MBBS, PhD, FARVO
Steve Charles, MD, FACS, FICS
Frank G. Holz, MD
Takeshi Iwata, PhD
Leonard Levin, MD, PhD FARVO
Philip J. Luthert, BSc, FRCP
Janos Nemeth, DSc, MD, PhD
Justine R. Smith, MBBS, PhD, FARVO
Lois E. H. Smith, MD, PhD, FARVO
W. Daniel Stamer, PhD, FARVO


ARVO/Alcon Early Career Clinician-Scientist Research Awards

Dr. David L. Epstein Award – applications now open

Oberdorfer Award in Low Vision Research

Pfizer Ophthalmics Carl Camras Translational Research Award – nominations now open

Dr. Roger Vogel Award for Pharmaceutical Research – nominations now open

Ludwig von Sallmann Clinician-Scientist Award


Collaborative Research Fellowships – applications now open

Developing Country Eye Researcher Travel Fellowships

Genentech Age-related Macular Degeneration Fellowships – applications now open


Alcon International Chapter Affiliates Matching Grants

Publications Grant – apply today!

Travel Grants