Merck Innovative Ophthalmology Research Award recent recipients

2015 Merck & Co Inc. Award recipients


First place 


Thomas Vincent Johnson, MD, PhD
“Identification of retinal ganglion cell neuroprotection conferred by platelet-derived growth factor through analysis of the mesenchymal stem cell secretome” 

Second place 


Joseph B. Ciolino, MD
”In vivo performance of a drug-eluting contact lens to treat glaucoma for a month”


Andrew J. Tatham, FRCOphth, FRCSEd, FEBO
“Glaucomatous retinal nerve fiber layer thickness loss is associated with slower reaction times under a divided attention task” 


Ocular Surface

First place 


Giulio Ferrari, MD
“Ocular Surface Injury Induces Inflammation in the Brain: In Vivo and Ex Vivo Evidence of a Corneal–Trigeminal Axis” 


Second place 


Terry G. Coursey, PhD
“Desiccating Stress–Induced Chemokine Expression in the Epithelium Is Dependent on Upregulation of NKG2D/RAE-1 and Release of IFN-g in Experimental Dry Eye” 


Paraskevi Evi Kolovou, MD
“ABCB5 is a limbal stem cell gene required for corneal development and repair”