Nominations are  now closed  


Pfizer Ophthalmics Carl Camras Translational Research Awards

The ARVO Foundation for Eye Research is pleased to honor Carl B. Camras, MD through the Pfizer Ophthalmics Carl Camras Translational Research Awards. Up to three awards of $12,000 each will be presented annually.

Nominees must meet the following criteria:

  • Early career researchers, who are no more than 45 years old at the time of nomination.
  • Exhibit excellence in research and their fundamental scientific discoveries, concepts and novel technologies
  • The discovery or observation must have led to, or have the promise of leading to, clinical applications

Recent recipients

View the 2016 Pfizer Ophthalmics Carl Camras Translational Research Award recipients.

Award history

Carl Camras, MD photoThanks to a generous donation from Pfizer Ophthalmics, the ARVO Foundation established this award in 2010 to honor Dr. Camras, who is highly respected for his work as a glaucoma specialist and a research scientist. He is most widely recognized for developing prostaglandin analogues for the treatment of elevated IOP in patients with glaucoma. During his distinguished career, he took a personal interest in developing the next generation of eye and vision researchers. View previous recipients.

2016 Camras Translational Research Award timeline

Nominations are  now closed