Nominations are now closed.

For additional information, please contact 


Vogel Award for Pharmaceutical Research nomination and review

Eligibility, criteria and general guidelines

The award will be given to honor an ARVO member who has made significant contributions to the discovery or development of pharmaceutical products to treat eye diseases. The award will be based on the overall contributions of the individual to pharmaceutical research.

The recipient can be any member of ARVO, including practicing physicians and researchers working in academia or industry.

Members of the Board of Trustees, Board of Governors and Awards Committees are not eligible to nominate, be nominated or submit seconding letters during their terms.

Nominators and Seconders may support only one nomination per year.

There are no geographic restrictions (i.e., international or domestic).There are no age restrictions.

The award will consist of a cash award of $10,000. The recipient will be clearly identified in the ARVO Annual Meeting program as the Dr. Roger Vogel Award recipient.

Nomination Process

The following is required to complete the nomination:  

  • The nomination form
  • One nomination letter
  • Biosketch
  • Seconding letter

Review Process

The ARVO Foundation Awards Committee will review all nominations and select a winner.