2017 Women in Eye and Vision Research Luncheon

May 09, 2017 Baltimore, Maryland

Women in Eye and Vision Research Luncheon

The annual Women in Eye and Vision Research (WEAVR) Luncheon, a fundraising event for the ARVO Foundation, takes place on the Tuesday of the ARVO Annual Meeting. Over 300 attendees enjoy networking together over lunch. Prominent scientists from around the world are invited as guest speakers to share their experiences. While the luncheon program is chosen to support women in eye and vision research, attendees of all genders are welcome to attend. 

Please join us for the Ninth Annual WEAVR Luncheon!

Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Hilton Baltimore
Holiday Ballroom
401 W. Pratt Street
Baltimore, Md. 

Luncheon: 1:00 - 2:30pm

Keynote Speaker

Janine Austin Clayton, MD, FARVO
Director, Office of Research on Women's Health
National Institutes of Health


Members/non-members: $65 
MITs/non-member trainees: $40 
U.S. tax deduction: The tax deductible portion of a member/non-member ticket is $25.

As of May 7, a small number of WEAVR Luncheon tickets are still available. They may be purchased at the ARVO Annual Meeting registration desk in the Pratt Street Lobby. 

For ticket buyers who purchased a ticket in advance: Your WEAVR Luncheon ticket will print with your badge at meeting registration. Please hold on to this ticket as it is your entry to the event. 

2017 Table Sponsors

iSenpai (on behalf of EmesARMY)


Nicolas Bazan, PhD, MD, FARVO, and Haydee Bazan, PhD, FARVO
Emily Y. Chew, MD, FARVO, and Robert P. Murphy, MD
Center for Vision Research, SUNY Upstate Medical University - Drs. Brunken and Fechtner
Children's Hospital Ophthalmology Foundation
Kellogg Eye Center
Mass Eye and Ear (4 tables)
North Texas Eye Research Institute
Stella M. Robertson, PhD, and James D. Robertson, PhD
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of Utah Moran Eye Center
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Wills Eye Hospital

Please contact the Amanda Johnson, Foundation Manager, at ajohnson@arvo.org

Refund Policy 
A written request must have been received by 5pm U.S. Eastern Time, April 1, 2017, in order to receive a full refund. No refunds will be given after April 1, 2017 for any reason. 

Questions? Please contact Amanda Johnson, Foundation Manager, at ajohnson@arvo.org

2017 WEAVR Luncheon Host Committee  

Sally Atherton, PhD, FARVO

Almira (Ellie) Chabi, MD

Sarah Coupland, MBBS, PhD, FRCPath

Cheryl M. Craft, PhD, FARVO

Patricia D'Amore, PhD, MBA, FARVO

Emily Gower, PhD

Kayla Gray

Cynthia Grosskreutz, MD, PhD

Neena Haider, PhD

ME Hartnett, MD, PhD

Jean T. Jacob, PhD

Karen Joos, MD, PhD, FARVO

Renu Kowluru, PhD, FARVO

Jennifer Lim, MD

Amy Lo, PhD

Goldis Malek, PhD

Poonam Mudgil, PhD

Yureeda Qazi, MD

Stella Robertston, PhD

Gail Seigel, PhD, FARVO

Carol Toris, PhD

View photos from the 2016 WEAVR Luncheon