ARVO and ARVO Foundation Awards Nominations Opening July 1

Rockville, Md.—The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) and ARVO Foundation for Eye Research announce the opening of nominations for their respective awards on July 1, 2020. This includes three new awards — the Genentech Career Development Award for Underrepresented Minority Emerging Vision Scientists, the Achievements in Eye and Vision Advocacy Award and the Emerging Advocate Award.

New Awards

The award will support an early-career emerging vision scientist with a two-year grant totaling $100,000 to promote the generation of promising preliminary research results. It is open to individuals working or practicing in the United States who are within the first four years of a primary academic appointment, have a strong record of scholarly productivity and identify in one or more groups whose underrepresentation in the American Professoriate has been severe and longstanding (Alaskan Native, Black/African-American/Afro-Caribbean, Mexican/Mexican-American, Chicano/a, Latino/a, Native American Indian, Native Pacific Islander or Puerto Rican).  

The award will recognize established researchers from any country and claiming any citizenship with a storied history of advocacy efforts at any level of government with the goal of advancing the eye and vision research enterprise.

The award will recognize young researchers from any country and claiming any citizenship who are engaging in outstanding advocacy efforts at any level of government (relative to their tenure in the field) with the goal of advancing the eye and vision research enterprise.

Existing ARVO Foundation Awards also opening July 1

The ARVO Foundation is also happy to announce the opening of applications and nominations for other awards, also on July 1, 2020.

  • The Dr. David L. Epstein Award is given annually to a well-established, senior investigator with a documented history of conducting eye and vision research in glaucoma and mentoring clinician-scientists to independent academic and research careers. The $100,000 award supports a collaborative project for the mentor and mentee related to glaucoma.
  • The Bert M. Glaser, MD Award for Innovative Research in Retina provides $10,000 to an early-career scientist in recognition of the discovery of a drug or technique, or of the understanding of a mechanism of disease, that is novel and has profoundly changed our understanding or treatment of a retinal disease or condition.
  • The Mallinckrodt Uveitis Research Fellowship provides a one-year research grant in the amount of $45,000 to an early career investigator to study an aspect of uveitis or other inflammatory condition.
  • The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize provides a $30,000 award in recognition of an outstanding scholarly article on glaucoma published in a peer-reviewed journal during the previous calendar year.

Applications and nominations for these awards will be open July 1 – September 1. Winners will be notified in December 2020.

Learn more about ARVO Foundation Awards.

Learn more about the Advocacy Awards.

Learn more about ARVO’s Achievement Awards.

# # #

The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) is the largest eye and vision research organization in the world. Members include approximately 10,000 eye and vision researchers from over 75 countries. ARVO advances research worldwide into understanding the visual system and preventing, treating and curing its disorders. Learn more at

Established in 2001, the ARVO Foundation for Eye Research raises funds through partnerships, grants and sponsorships to support ARVO’s world-class education and career development resources for eye and vision researchers of all stages of career and education. Learn more at

Media Contact:

Erin Hering