ARVO/Alcon Early Career Clinician-Scientist Research Awards

These awards support researchers who are committed to careers as clinician-scientists. The awards are presented annually in recognition of significant research being presented at the ARVO Annual Meeting. This award was established in 2006 through a generous donation by the Alcon Foundation to the ARVO Foundation for Eye Research.

Awardees will receive a $3,000 honorarium, an inscribed award and invitations to several special events at the ARVO Annual Meeting.

Researchers engaged in basic or clinical vision research who hold an MD or equivalent clinical professional degree with an academic faculty or comparable appointment, are committed to a career encompassing institutionally guaranteed protected time for research, and are currently working or have previously worked under the guidance of a mentor are eligible to apply.

Application process
Applications are accepted via the ARVO Annual Meeting abstract submission process. Candidates may indicate on their abstract submission that they would like to be considered for this award. Abstracts maybe submitted online before the deadline.

Review and selection process
Abstracts are reviewed and scored by the Annual Meeting Program Committee. The award is given to the highest-scoring abstracts submitted by eligible individuals who have opted in to being considered for the award.

Applications coincide with the ARVO Annual Meeting abstract submission process.

Abstract submission opens October 21, 2019
Abstract submission closes December 6, 2019
Recipients notified February 2020


2019 Alcon Early Career Clinician-Scientist Awards

Cecilia Lee, MD
University of Washington

Lev Prasov, MD, PhD
National Eye Institute

Mary Whitman, MD, PhD
Boston Children's Hospital, Harvard Medical School

Patrick Yu-Wai-Man, BMedSci, MBBS, PhD, FRCPath, FRCOphth
University of Cambridge

ARVO Foundation Logo