Meet the 2022 BI, CL and VN Trustee elects

Biochemistry/Molecular Biology (BI) Trustee-elect


Terri Young, MD, PhD, FARVO
Terri L. Young, MD, MBA (Gold FARVO member) is the Peter A. Duehr Professor and Chairwoman of the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the University of Wisconsin- Madison, with secondary appointments in the departments of Pediatrics and Medical Genetics.  She is a world-recognized clinician-scientist and contributor in the fields of ophthalmic genetics and genomics, especially in the areas of refractive error, eye development and childhood glaucoma. 

She has a broad, substantial service record for multiple editorial boards, grant review committees for foundations and NIH/NEI study sections, as well as national and international advisory boards.  She recently served as a permanent member of the NEI Diseases and Pathophysiology of the Visual System Study Section, and the NEI Board of Scientific Counselors.  She has served on and led multiple ARVO committees as chair of the Diversity and Inclusion Committee, member of the Professional Education Committee, chair of WEAVR, and multi-year service on both the Cross-Sectional Program Genetics and the BI section Program Committees.  Dr. Young has served annually as a mentor for the ARVO Developing Country Eye Researcher Travel Fellowship since its inception. 

She is currently serving as a Trustee on the ARVO Foundation Board, and was invited by ARVO leadership to develop ARVO’s recent strategic plan and select its current Executive Vice President.  She has an exemplary career developing local to international programs of genetic studies of ocular disorders, inclusion, mentoring and leadership.  She is a strong advocate and longstanding participant of international research collaborations, and serves as a founding member on two international genome-wide association consortia. 

She will be an excellent, committed and inspiring addition to the ARVO Trustee Board as our representative.

Nominated by:

Eric Pierce, MD, PhD, FARVO

Director, Ocular Genomics Institute

Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary

Clinical/Epidemiologic Research (CL) Trustee-elect


Tien Y. Wong, MD, PhD, FARVO
Tien Wong is currently professor and medical director of the Singapore National Eye Center and Vice-Dean at Duke- NUS Medical School, National University of Singapore. Tien studied medicine at the National University of Singapore and completed his MPH and PhD in epidemiology from Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health. He also completed a Fellowship at the Dana Center of Preventive Ophthalmology and an American Diabetes Association Fellowship at the University of Wisconsin.

Tien is an outstanding physician-scientist who has made substantial scientific contributions in global epidemiology of visual impairment and eye diseases, particular diabetic retinopathy, age-related macular degeneration and myopia. In particular, over nearly 20 years Tien’s research on the prevalence, trends and risk factors for eye diseases in Singapore has provided seminal data on eye diseases in Asia.

Tien has mentored many researchers over their careers and is a prolific researcher with >1300 papers, including papers in NEJMLancet and JAMA. He has a H-index of 168.

Tien has contributed to ARVO, including being CL Program Chair, and on the editorial board of IOVS. He has served on boards/council of the International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO), the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) and Macula Society. He has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Alcon Research Institute Award, the Arnall Patz Medal from the Macula Society, the Eisenhower Fellowship and the Singapore President’s Science and Technology Prize. Tien is one of few elected foreign members of the National Academy of Medicine (NAM).

For his research contributions and his leadership abilities, I nominate Tien for CL Trustee and am certain ARVO and the CL Section will benefit greatly if he is selected. I endorse his candidacy with utmost confidence and enthusiasm.

Nominated by:
Sheila West, PhD, FARVO
El-Maghraby Professor of Preventive Ophthalmology
Director of the Dana Center for Preventive Ophthalmology
Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute

 Visual Neuroscience (VN) Trustee-elect


Wei Li, PhD, FARVO
Wei Li is well trained in visual neuroscience, having received his PhD for work he performed in Dr. Stephen Massey’s laboratory at UT Houston.  He went on to receive his postdoctoral training in the laboratory of Dr. Steven DeVries at Northwestern University.  After his excellent training, Wei joined the National Eye Institute (NEI).  He is currently chief of retinal neurophysiology section at the NEI.  Wei is a superb retinal neurophysiologist and imager.  He has published high profile papers in the areas of retina synapses, retinal circuits, retinal development, retinal metabolism and disease.  He is well versed and an expert in many of the areas of interest of the Visual Neuroscience Section of ARVO. 

Wei has been a tireless advocate of ARVO and visual neuroscience.  He has been a continuous member of ARVO since 1999.  Wei has served on and led the Visual Neuroscience program committee.  He is also a strong proponent of international participation and scientific exchange. 

Wei is an outstanding nominee for trustee of the Visual Neuroscience Section of ARVO.  He has demonstrated excellence in many of the areas of interest of the Visual Neuroscience.  He is a strong and proven advocate of ARVO.  He is also a solid ambassador for international participation and scientific exchange, having participated in many international symposia of visual neuroscience.

Wei has my strongest recommendation with no reservations.  He will make a superb trustee of Visual Neuroscience.

Nominated by:

Peter Lukasiewicz, PhD, FARVO

Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences Department

Washington University School of Medicine