Advocacy Day

Annual Advocacy Day

Advocacy Day, organized by the National Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (NAEVR), is an annual U.S.-based opportunity for students and established researchers to share their science with their representatives, describe how their work and careers depend on federal funding and invite policymakers to visit their labs.

This event brings ARVO members from the U.S. and abroad to Washington, D.C. to talk to members of Congress — including new members and those assigned to key committees with NIH funding oversight — and their staff about the importance of science research funding. Participation in this event is also part of ARVO’s Science Communication Training Fellowship (required for U.S. fellows only).

View 2019 Advocacy Day summary

View 2019 Advocacy Day photo album

Capitol Hill Poster Reception for Young Scientists

On September 27, 2018, ARVO members shared their research with members of Congress and their staff at the Alliance for Eye and Vision Research (AEVR) Emerging Vision Scientist Congressional Reception. The 21 researchers, all whom have completed their degree but have yet to receive their first R01 from the NIH, spoke about the importance of government funding to their careers.

In its fourth year, the reception has grown to be a prominent event in the vision research community. Speakers included Michael Steinmetz, PhD, director of extramural science programs at NEI. Several members of Congress and their staff attended the event alongside representatives from Research to Prevent Blindness, the Age-related Macular Degeneration Foundation and Foundation Fighting Blindness. The reception also recognized the 25th anniversary of AEVR.

  Huang poster 

Assistant Professor Dimitra Skondra, MD, PhD (right), discusses her research to Congressman Randy Hultgren (R-IL, center) and NEI Director of Extramural Science Programs Michael Steinmetz, PhD (left)

Research Assistant Professor Jenny Huang, OD, PhD poses in front of her poster on myopia research

Steinmetz, Jorkasky podium

EVS class of 2018

NEI Director of Extramural Science Programs Michael Steinmetz, PhD, shares the podium with AEVR Executive Director James Jorkasky (right) The AEVR Emerging Vision Scientist class of 2018