The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize

The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize provides a $30,000 award in recognition of an outstanding scholarly article on glaucoma published in a peer-reviewed journal during the previous calendar year.

The intent of the Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize is to recognize and encourage exemplary scholarly research in the field of glaucoma. Lewis Rudin was a prominent real estate developer in New York City. The award is funded by the May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation with support of his brother Jack Rudin.

The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize was established in 1995 through the New York Academy of Medicine and has become a prestigious award within the glaucoma and ophthalmology communities. The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize was transferred to the ARVO Foundation in 2019.


The following criteria and award policies govern eligibility for the award:

  • Articles must have a publication date in the previous calendar year
  • Articles must be related to glaucoma
  • First and corresponding authors must be ARVO members
  • Self-nominations are not permitted
  • There are no geographic or citizenship restrictions
  • ARVO and ARVO Foundation Officers, Board members and ARVO Foundation Awards Committee members are not eligible to apply for or be nominated for an award nor may they supply letters of support during their terms

Nomination process

Articles published in the previous calendar year (January – December) are eligible for nomination in the subsequent year. For example, articles published in 2020 are eligible for nomination from July – Sept. 2021. The award prize is given to the first and corresponding authors.

Nominations are accepted via online application. The online nomination form requires the following information, forms and documents:

  • Nominator's name, institution and contact information
  • Letter of nomination that describes the significance and impact of the nominated article
  • Details about the nominated article including:
    • Article title
    • Publication title and date
    • Journal citation
    • List of all authors


Application opens   July 1
Application closes   Sept. 1
Recipients notified   February 2022

2020 recipients: Pooja Teotia, PhD and Iqbal Ahmad, PhD

Human retinal ganglion cell axon regeneration by recapitulating developmental mechanisms: effects of recruitment of the mTOR pathway”, published in the Company of Biologists. (July 2019)