The Mallinckrodt Uveitis Research Fellowship 

The Mallinckrodt Uveitis Research Fellowship provides one $45,000 research award to support a well-conceived research project focused on an aspect of uveitis or other inflammatory condition of the eye, including the understanding of the role and interplay of infections and intraocular inflammation.

This award was established in 2019 and is supported by Mallinckrodt through the ARVO Foundation.

Eligible applicants include newly established investigators who are age 45 or younger at the application deadline and have received their MD, PhD or equivalent degree.

Specific eligibility criteria include:

  • Applicants must be an ARVO member
  • Applicants must hold an MD, PhD, DVM, DO, OD, or equivalent degree
  • Applicants must be appropriately trained to lead an independent research study and have evidence of capacity to do research including infrastructure and institutional support
  • Applicants must be working in a nonprofit or academic research center
  • Applicants must be age 45 or younger at the time of application
  • There are no geographic or citizenship restrictions
  • ARVO and ARVO Foundation Officers, Board members and ARVO Foundation Awards Committee members are not eligible to apply for or be nominated for an award nor may they supply letters of support during their terms

Use of funds
Funds may be used for research, including salary and benefits. Funds may not be used for purchasing equipment. No overhead fees can be assessed. The project period must commence within six months of notification of the award and be completed within one year of the start date.

Application process

  • Applications are accepted via online application. The online application requires the following information, forms and documents:
  • The application will include submission of:
  • NIH biosketch or equivalent
  • Research plan (maximum of three pages) including the following sections:
    • Objectives
    • Background and Significance
    • Design and Methodology
    • Project Narrative
    • Specific Aims
  • One-page description of applicant's vision for future research and its anticipated impact related to inflammatory conditions
  • Project budget
  • A letter of support from a senior person from the applicant’s department or institution detailing strengths and the institutional setting for the research.
  • Signature form signed by principal investigator, department head and administrative official
  • Affirmations of adherence to all relevant ARVO policies

Additional information:

  • Grants are for a period of one-year and must commence within six months of award notification.
  • Recipients will be expected to submit their findings for possible presentation at an ARVO Annual Meeting and publish results, as appropriate.
  • A report must be submitted to the ARVO Foundation within 30 days of the conclusion of the research period.

Review and selection process
Applications are reviewed by the ARVO Foundation Awards Committee comprised of internationally recognized experts. The deliberations of the Foundation Awards Committee are confidential and their decision is final.

Applications open on July 1

Applications close on Sept. 1 (11:59pm U.S. Eastern time)

Recipients notified in December

2021 recipient: Paulo J. M. Bispo, MS, PhD

Dr. Bispo is a medical microbiologist dedicated to developing better ways to diagnose, treat, and prevent infections. With training in innovation in clinical and molecular microbiology, his work is focused at the translational interface between laboratory research and clinical practice. His project is entitled, "Rapid and Unbiased Detection of Uveitis Pathogens by Nanopore Metagenomic Sequencing."