Continuing Medical Education Program

The list of CME sessions for ARVO 2019 will be ready in late-March 2019. The CME program typically includes 100+ sessions with a maximum credit amount of approximately 29-31 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™  that can be earned by attending all five days of the meeting. 

Educational objectives
After completing this activity, the participant should be better able to: 

  • Discuss the results of basic and clinical ophthalmology investigations and vision research underway, relevant to my area of interest or practice.
  • Describe new models and methods being used by researchers and practitioners in eye and vision science. 
  • Cite ways in which new research data and methods may influence my research and/or practice.
  • Discuss prospective advancements in eye and vision research and/or practice

CME sessions
The following Annual Meeting session types are not eligible for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™: ALCON/Keynote series, Award lectures, Posters, SiGs, and Special sessions. All other session types are considered for inclusion in the CME program. 

ACCME logoAccreditation Statement
This activity has been planned and implemented in accordance with the Essential Areas and Policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) through ARVO. ARVO is accredited by the ACCME to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

Physician credit designation
ARVO designates this live activity for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

International Attendees: The American Medical Association (AMA) has determined that physicians not licensed in the U.S. who participate in CME activities are eligible for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™.

CME credits and certificates fee

Registration type In advance Onsite or post-meeting
MIT, Student Non-Member $59 $59
Member, Non-Member, Exhibitor (paid full-meeting access badge)  $79 $99
Exhibitor (complimentary full-meeting access badge only) $89 $89

Instructions to receive credit and/or certificates
Attendees interested in claiming AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™  for participating in the ARVO Annual Meeting must pay the CME credits and certificates fee. Payment is collected during the registration process or added to an existing registration. Instructions on how to claim CME credit will be sent to the email address on file prior to the start of the Annual Meeting or within two business days of your purchase (whichever is later). Only attendees with a paid account will be able to claim credit for the 2019 Annual Meeting.

All requests for credit must be submitted no later than 11:59pm U.S. Eastern Time on Aug. 31, 2019. Certificates are official. You will not receive additional documentation.

Certificate of Participation*
ARVO is accredited to offer AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ to physicians. All other participants may receive a Certificate of Participation that documents the number of CME hours attended* by following the same instructions listed above and paying the CME credits and certificates fee.

*Some accrediting agencies may award equivalent Continuing Education (CE) credit when presented with a Certificate of Participation from an activity that offered AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™. Check with your accrediting agency for information. Questions? Email:

Certificate of Attendance
Certificates of attendance are available free to all attendees. These certificates state that one has attended the Annual Meeting; but does not offer credit tracking. They will be available onsite at the meeting registration desk and ARVO Central in the exhibit hall.

The Annual Meeting provides a forum for the open exchange and discussion of research results and scientific advancements in the field of ophthalmology; however, ARVO makes no representation or warranty as to the truth, originality, or accuracy of the information presented at the meeting or in materials distributed in connection with them. Nor are the views expressed by the individual speakers necessarily the views of ARVO. ARVO supports the ACCME’s policy on evidence-based content and encourages faculty to adhere to these standards when planning a presentation.

Participants have an implied responsibility to use the newly acquired information to enhance patient outcomes and their own professional development. The information presented in this meeting is not meant to serve as a guideline for patient management. Any procedures, medications, or other courses of diagnosis or treatment discussed in this activity should not be used by clinicians without evaluation of patient conditions and possible contraindications on dangers in use, review of any applicable manufacturer’s product information, and comparison with recommendations of other authorities.

Disclaimer off-label use
The Annual Meeting may contain discussion of published and/or investigational uses of agents that are not indicated by the FDA. ARVO does not recommend the use of any agent outside of the labeled indications. The opinions expressed in the educational activity are those of the faculty and do not necessarily represent the views of any organization associated with this activity. Please refer to the official prescribing information for each product for discussion of approved indications, contraindications and warnings.

Disclosure of conflicts of interest
ARVO requires instructors, planners, managers and other individuals and their spouse/ partner who are in a position to control the content of this activity to disclose any real or apparent conflict of interest they may have as related to the content of this activity. All identified conflicts of interest are thoroughly vetted by ARVO for fair balance, scientific objectivity of studies mentioned in the materials or used as the basis for content, and appropriateness of patient care recommendations.

Disclosure information for faculty is provided within initial disclosure slides, prior to the start of their respective presentations and within the online planner. mobile app and Commercial Relationships Index. Disclosure for all individuals involved in planning and managing this CME activity are listed in the Pocket Guide with their relevant disclosure information.