2020 ARVO Foundation Honorees

Recognizing the 2020 ARVO Foundation Honorees

2020 ARVO Foundation Honorees

ARVO Foundation Honorees are recognized for their commitment to ARVO and the ARVO Foundation including financial support, exemplary leadership of a Foundation initiative or dedication to endeavors that represent the mission of the ARVO Foundation. Honorees are nominated and selected by the ARVO Foundation Board of Governors.

Portrait of Cheryl Mae Craft

Cheryl M. Craft, PhD, FARVO
USC Roski Eye Institute, Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

In recognition of Dr. Crafts’ many years of active leadership with ARVO and the ARVO Foundation, including the time and resources she so generously put into furthering the work of both organizations. This most recently includes six years of dedicated service to the ARVO Foundation as a Governor and emcee of the ARVO Foundation Gala. Dr. Crafts’ steady, heartfelt generosity to the ARVO Foundation, particularly through the travel grants she created in memory of family and colleagues close to her, is admirable.

Portrait of Chi Pui Calvin Pang

Chi Pui Calvin Pang, BSc, DPhil, FARVO
Chinese University of Hong Kong/Joint Shantou Eye Hospital

In recognition of Dr. Pangs’ dedicated service to ARVO and support of the global vision research community. Dr. Pang has been instrumental in helping the ARVO leadership connect with eye and vision scientists and partners worldwide to bring ARVO’s mission to a more global audience. This includes his admirable leadership of the development of the Global Mentorship Program to support and sustain the interest of junior researchers in the eye and vision research field.


Portrait of Al Sommer

Al Sommer, MHS, MD
Johns Hopkins University

In recognition of Dr. Sommers’ remarkable career as a clinician-scientist dedicated to improving public health and eliminating blinding conditions, specifically through the study of vitamin A deficiency. His support of the ARVO Foundation as a Dowling Society member is commendable.


National Eye Institute logo

National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health

In recognition of the organization’s 50-year commitment to advancing eye and vision science. The ARVO Foundation is pleased to honor the National Eye Institute (NEI) for its tremendous role in the field as a research funder, driver of innovation and sponsor of countless young scientists as they develop in their careers. This includes NEI’s remarkable support of more than $3 million in travel grant funding that has allowed young researchers to present their work at the ARVO Annual Meeting for more than four decades.