Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize

Recognizing an outstanding scholarly article in glaucoma

The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize provided a $30,000 award in recognition of an outstanding scholarly article on glaucoma published in a peer-reviewed journal during the previous calendar year.

The intent of the Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize was to recognize and encourage exemplary scholarly research in the field of glaucoma. Lewis Rudin was a prominent real estate developer in New York City. The award is funded by the May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation with support of his brother Jack Rudin.

The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize was established in 1995 through the New York Academy of Medicine and has become a prestigious award within the glaucoma and ophthalmology communities. The Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize was transferred to the ARVO Foundation in 2019.

*This prize is not being awarded currently.

2020 Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize recipient

"Human retinal ganglion cell axon regeneration by recapitulating developmental mechanisms: effects of recruitment of the mTOR pathway" published in the journal Development (July 2019)

Iqbal Ahmad, PhD
University of Nebraska

Pooja Teotia, PhD
University of Nebraska

2019 Lewis Rudin Glaucoma Prize recipient

"Insulin signaling promotes dendrite and synapse regeneration and restores circuit function after axonal injury" published in the journal Brain (July 2018)

Adriana Di Polo, PhD, FARVO
University of Montreal