Ludwig von Sallmann Clinician-Scientist Award

Recognizing young clinician-scientists

Ludwig von Sallmann, MD

This award honors Ludwig von Sallmann, MD, a distinguished international ophthalmologist and ophthalmic investigator who made contributions in many fields of research and greatly increased the basic and clinical understanding of vision and ophthalmology. He served as Chief of the Intramural Program of the National Eye Institute and was an ARVO Proctor Medal recipient in 1951.

First presented in 2011, the Ludwig von Sallmann Clinician-Scientist Award is supported by an anonymous donor through the ARVO Foundation. The annual recipient is selected from invited speakers to the ARVO Annual Meeting who hold an MD or MD/PhD (or equivalent) and who are age 45 or younger at the time of presentation. Award recipients will present a lecture at a scientific session, symposium or minisymposium at the ARVO Annual Meeting. Awardees will receive a $1,250 honorarium, an inscribed award and invitations to several special events at the ARVO Annual Meeting.

Ludwig von Sallmann Clinician-Scientist Awardees


Patrick Yu-Wai-Man, MD, PhD
University of Cambridge
"Gene therapy for Leber Hereditary Optic Neuropathy"


Robert P. Finger, MD, MIH, PhD
University of Bonn
"Spotlight on macular disease: Impact on everyday function and wellbeing"


Sai H. Chavala, MD
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
"Retinal plasticity in disease and regeneration"


Anat Galor, MD
University of Miami
"Artificial intelligence: The algorithmic solution to retinal healthcare"


Pearse A. Keane, MD
Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
"An overview to ocular surface pain"


Eligibility details
Learn more about the eligibility requirements for the Ludwig von Sallman Clinician-Scientist Award
2014 award lecture
Balamurali Ambati, MD, PhD, MBA, the 2014 award recipient, presents his lecture, "Use of RNA interference and morpholinos in corneal disease, and future targets for gene therapy"
2013 award lecture
2013 Ludwig von Sallmann Clincian-Scientist Award recipient Malik Y. Kahook, MD presents in the Basic/Clinical Lecture, "Optical biopsy of ocular tissues: Recent advances and future directions"