Board of Governors

The ARVO Foundation Board of Governors is comprised of leaders across the eye and vision research community who are dedicated to advancing the ARVO Foundation's mission. The Governors are fundraisers and ambassadors for the ARVO Foundation, including fund development and donor stewardship. This group also guides the organization's strategic direction and oversees the legal entity.

Board of Governors

Joel S.


Joel S. Schuman, MD, FARVO

NYU Langone Eye Center
Term: 5/7/2021 - 5/31/2024



Rafal Farjo, PhD

Term: 5/1/2021 - 5/4/2024

Janet C.

Janet C. Blanks, PhD, FARVO

Term: 4/27/2018 - 4/30/2024

William J.

William J. Brunken, PhD, FARVO

Upstate Medical University
Term: 4/27/2018 - 4/30/2024

Claude F.

Claude F. Burgoyne, MD, FARVO

Devers Eye Institute
Term: 5/1/2021 - 5/4/2024

Emily Y.

Emily Y. Chew, MD, FARVO

National Eye Institute
Term: 5/1/2020 - 4/23/2023


ME Hartnett, MD, FACS, FARVO

Moran Eye Center, University of Utah
Term: 5/1/2021 - 5/4/2024


Shigeru Kinoshita, MD

Kyoto Prefectural University of Medicine
Term: 5/1/2022 - 5/8/2025


Renu Kowluru, PhD, FARVO

Kresge Eye Institute - Wayne State University
Term: 5/1/2021 - 5/4/2024

Alan R.

Alan R. Morse, JD, PhD

Lighthouse Guild (Emeritus)
Term: 5/1/2020 - 4/23/2023


Erik van Kuijk, MD, PhD, FARVO

University of Minnesota
Term: 4/27/2018 - 4/30/2024

Janey L.

Janey L. Wiggs, MD, PhD, FARVO

Mass Eye and Ear
Term: 4/26/2019 - 5/5/2022


Thomas Yorio, PhD, FARVO

University of North Texas Health Science Center
Term: 4/26/2019 - 5/5/2022

Ex Officio to the Governors

Gary W.

Governor Emeritus

Gary W. Abrams, MD, FARVO

Wayne State University, Kresge Eye Institute

Nicolas G.

Governor Emeritus

Nicolas G. Bazan, MD, PhD, FARVO

LSU Health Sciences Center

John E.

Governor Emeritus

John E. Dowling, PhD, FARVO

Harvard University

J. Mark

Executive Vice President

J. Mark Petrash, PhD, FARVO

University of Colorado
Term: 2022 - 2026

Iris M.

Executive Director

Iris M. Rush, CAE

ARVO and the ARVO Foundation