ARVO Foundation Awards Committee

The ARVO Foundation offers a number of awards to recognize the best and brightest in eye and vision research, and to assist vision scientists and eye researchers in their efforts to stay abreast of the latest trends. The Foundation Awards Committee reviews applications and nominations for some ARVO Foundation awards.

W. Daniel Stamer, PhD, FARVO - Chair
Juana Gallar, MD, PhD, FARVO
Linda D. Hazlett, PhD, FARVO
Takeshi Iwata, PhD
Leonard Levin, MD, PhD FARVO
Philip J. Luthert, BSc, FRCP
Tammy M. Martin, PhD
Janos Nemeth, DSc, MD, PhD
Lois E. H. Smith, MD, PhD, FARVO
Terri L. Young, MD, FARVO
Oliver Zeitz, MD

Ad hoc members  

Goldis Malek, PhD
Silvia Finnemann, PhD

Epstein Award Ad Hoc Committee

The Epstein Award Ad Hoc Committee is specialized subcommittee of the ARVO Foundation Awards Committee with responsibility for selecting the annual winner of the Dr. David L. Epstein Award. The committee consists of the chair of the Foundation Awards Committee, the chair of the Foundation Board of Governors, the ARVO Trustee representing the Glaucoma section plus three additional committee members who are senior glaucoma specialists. 

Joel Schuman, MD, FARVO - Chair
W. Daniel Stamer, PhD, FARVO
J. Mark Petrash, PhD, FARVO
Claude Burgoyne, MD, FARVO
Paul Lee, MD, JD, FARVO
Elke Luetjen-Drecoll, MD

WEAVR Leadership Committee

The Women in Eye and Vision Research (WEAVR) initiative was developed in 2008 to provide networking, career development and research opportunities for women pursuing careers in the visual sciences. The WEAVR Leadership Committee provides strategic direction for WEAVR’s fundraising activities, and leads WEAVR’s initiatives for networking and career development.

Terri L. Young, MD, FARVO - Chair
Sally S. Atherton, PhD, FARVO
Haydee E. P. Bazan, PhD, FARVO
Sarah E. Coupland, MBBS, PhD, FARVO
Adriana Di Polo, PhD
M. Elizabeth Hartnett, MD, FARVO
Amy Lo, PhD
Stella M. Robertson, PhD
Lily L. Wong, PhD