Foundation Gala Honoree Selection

ARVO Foundation Honoree Nominations

The goal of the ARVO Foundation Honorees is to highlight members of the ARVO community who have established themselves as leaders in eye and vision research and in addition have been integral to furthering the mission of the ARVO Foundation through volunteer service to ARVO and the ARVO Foundation and/or a history of financial support to the Foundation.

Nomination Criteria
  • A minimum of two (2) and a maximum of four (4) honorees will be selected
  • Honorees do not need to be ARVO members
  • Honorees can be individuals, businesses, nonprofit organizations, or organized groups
  • Honorees may not be voting members of the Foundation Board of Governors
  • The selection of Honorees year-to-year should be attentive to gender and national origin
  • Honorees should have a demonstrated commitment to the ARVO Foundation, including any of the following:
    • Significant and/or steady financial support
    • Exemplary leadership of a Foundation initiative
    • Dedication to endeavors that represent the mission of the ARVO Foundation
Nomination Process
  • The nomination period for Honorees will open in early August and close at the end of September
  • The nomination process will be conducted online
  • Nominations will require nominee name, institution/company (if applicable), and a brief description of the nominee’s contributions that qualify them for the honor
  • No self-nominations will be accepted
  • Members of the ARVO Foundation Board of Governors, Legacy Society and Dowling Society may nominate honorees

Nomination deadline: Sept. 1, 11:59pm ET.

Nominate today button

Previous Honorees



BrightFocus Foundation
Stella M. Robertson, PhD, FARVO
W. Daniel Stamer, PhD, FARVO


Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD, FARVO
Susan M. Epstein, RN, JD
Ingrid Kreissig, MD
Aerie Pharmaceuticals


Cheryl M. Craft, PhD, FARVO
Chi Pui Calvin Pang, BSC, DPHIL, FARVO
Al Sommer, MHS, MD
National Eye Institute


Peng Tee Khaw, MD, PhD, FARVO
J. Mark Petrash, PhD, FARVO
Joyce Tombran-Tink, PhD, FARVO


Nicolas G. Bazan, MD, PhD, FARVO
Shigeru Kinoshita, MD, PhD, FARVO
Alice R. McPherson, MD


Sally Atherton, PhD, FARVO
William J. Brunken, PhD, FARVO
Alcon Foundation


Martin Friedlander, MD, PhD, FARVO
Robert E. Anderson, MD, PhD, FARVO
David R. Williams, PhD, FARVO


Stanley Chang, MD, FARVO
Martine J. Jager, MD, PhD, FARVO


Julia A. Haller, MD, FARVO
Sabri Markabi, MD


Carlos Belmonte, MD, FARVO
Joan W. Miller, MD, FARVO


Anthony Adamis, MD, FARVO
Henry Edelhauser, PhD, FARVO  


Gary W. Abrams, MD, FARVO
Paul A. Sieving, MD, PhD, FARVO
Napoleone Ferrara, MD, PhD
Herbert E. Kaufman, MD, FARVO


John E. Dowling, PhD, FARVO

No event held in 2009, 2010 or 2020.