Awards Committee



The Awards Committee (AWD) solicits and reviews nominations annually for ARVO awards. AWD consists of one member from each Scientific Section to ensure there is adequate coverage of all relevant research fields. Committee members are past awardees, past Board members, or members distinguished in their field and include at least one former Cogan Award recipient and at least two former Proctor/Friedenwald Award recipients.


  • Review and rank nominations.
  • Evaluate the awards program to ensure that new trends in the field are addressed.
  • Chair reports to the Board of Trustees on the Committee's recommendations of top candidates for the awards at one of the two board meetings held during the ARVO Annual Meeting.


The committee as a whole meets during the ARVO Annual Meeting and conducts business via ARVOConnect and e-mail and if needed by conference call during the year.

How to Apply - application period closed January 12
To be considered, please submit an online application consisting of an application statement, plus detail of past ARVO service and/or experience. It is recommended that individuals:

    • Invest time in their application
    • Make sure their member information is updated and accurate in ARVOConnect

(Ex officio AWD members do not participate in the evaluation of the nominees or in voting). The ARVO President-elect will make appointments in February/March for the term beginning in May 2022 (additional details will be announced at a later date). Length of committee service is four years.


Chair and CO Representative

Juana Gallar, MD, PhD, FARVO

Section: Cornea
Universidad Miguel Hernandez-CSIC
San Juan de Alicante , Spain
Term: 05/07/2020 - 05/05/2022

Chair-elect and BI Representative

Anneke I. Den Hollander, PhD

Section: Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Center
Nijmegen , Netherlands
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/05/2022

PH Representative

Catherine A. Opere, PhD

Section: Physiology and Pharmacology
Creighton University
Omaha , Neb.
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/05/2022

RE Representative

Wolfgang Drexler, PhD, FARVO

Section: Retina
Medical University Vienna
Vienna , Austria
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/05/2022

RC Representative

Enrica Strettoi, PhD

Section: Retinal Cell Biology
CNR Neuroscience Institute
Pisa , Italy
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/05/2022

CL Representative

Rohit Varma, MPH, MD, FARVO

Section: Clinical and Epidemiologic Research
University of Southern California
Los Angeles , Calif.
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/05/2022

GL Representative

Harry Quigley, MD, FARVO

Section: Glaucoma
Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute
Baltimore , Md.
Term: 05/02/2019 - 04/27/2023

EY Representative

Nicholas Volpe, MD

Section: Eye Movements/Strabismus/Amblyopia/Neuro-Ophthalmology
Northwestern University
Chicago , Ill.
Term: 05/02/2019 - 04/27/2023

LE Representative

Kevin Schey, PhD

Section: Lens
Vanderbilt University
Nashville , Tenn.
Term: 05/07/2020 - 05/05/2024

AP Representative

Jacob Pe'er, MD, FARVO

Section: Anatomy and Pathology/Oncology
Hadassah-Hebrew University Medical Center
Jerusalem , Israel
Term: 05/07/2020 - 05/09/2024

IM Representative

Mary Marquart, PhD, FARVO

Section: Immunology and Microbiology
University of Mississippi Medical Center
Jackson , Miss.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/08/2025

VI Representative

Susana Marcos, PhD, FARVO

Section: Visual Psychophysics and Physiological Optics
Institute of Optics (CSIC)/Instituto de Optica, CSIC
Madrid , Spain
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/08/2025

VN Representative

Jonathan Demb, PhD

Section: Visual Neuroscience
Yale University
New Haven , Conn.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/08/2025

Trustee Liaison

Louis R. Pasquale, MD, FARVO

Harvard Medical School
Boston , Mass.
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/04/2023

Trustee Liaison

Patricia D'Amore, MBA, PhD, FARVO

Retinal Cell Biology
Schepens Eye Research Institute - Massachessetts Eye and Ear
Boston , Mass.
Term: 05/02/2019 - 05/07/2024


Stephen C Pflugfelder, MD, FARVO

Section: Cornea
Baylor University College of Medicine
Houston , Tex.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/05/2022

Ex Officio

Iris M. Rush, CAE

Executive Director

Staff Committee Liaison

Kerin Miller

Manager, Program Administration