Ludwig von Sallmann Clinician-Scientist Award

This award recognizes Ludwig von Sallmann, MD, a distinguished international ophthalmologist and ophthalmic investigator whose contributions greatly increased the basic and clinical understanding of vision and ophthalmology. Dr. von Sallmann served as chief of the Intramural Program of the National Eye Institute and was an ARVO Proctor Medal recipient in 1951. He also served on the staffs of Vienna, Beijing and Columbia Universities. First presented in 2011, the Ludwig von Sallmann Clinician-Scientist Award is supported by an anonymous donor through the ARVO Foundation.

Awardees will receive a $1,250 honorarium, an inscribed award and invitations to several special events at the ARVO Annual Meeting.

Eligible candidates are invited speakers to the ARVO Annual Meeting who hold an MD or MD/PhD (or equivalent) and who are age 45 or younger at the time of presentation. Award recipients will present a lecture at a scientific session, symposium or minisymposium at the ARVO Annual Meeting.

Application process
There is no application process for this award.

Review and selection process
Eligible candidates will be contacted by ARVO staff to self-nominate for this award. A selection committee evaluates and selects the recipient.

Recipients will be notified in March.

ARVO Foundation Logo

2024 recipient: Sally L. Baxter, MD, MSc

Sally L. Baxter, MD, MSc, is a clinician-scientist working at the intersection of ophthalmology and biomedical informatics. She has expertise in artificial intelligence, biomedical and clinical informatics, big-data analytics and data standards. Baxter is the Chief of Ophthalmology Informatics and Data Science at the University of California San Diego, chair of a data standards work group at the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO), member of the AAO Committee on Artificial Intelligence, and co-lead of the Observational Health Data Sciences and Informatics (OHDSI) Workgroup in Eye Care and Vision Research. She is also the PI of multiple grant-funded research studies and training programs, and has over 90 scientific publications. Baxter is the first ophthalmologist to receive the NIH Office of the Director’s Early Independence Award. She has been recognized in Ophthalmology Management’s '40 Under 40' list, The Ophthalmologist's Power List of 'Rising Stars', and was a recipient of the 2023 NEI Director's Award.