Continuing Medical Education Committee



The Continuing Medical Education Committee (CME) is advisory in nature and serves to ensure that ARVO’s continuing medical education program meets or exceeds the Essential Areas and policies of the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) and the American Medical Association’s rules for their Physician’s Recognition Award (AMA PRA).

  • Review and recommend policies for the CME Program. Serve as an advisory resource to ARVO staff for any CME program-related grievances. Review and recommend the CME Mission Statement and its subsequent revisions on an annual basis with substantial revisions forwarded to the Board of Trustees.
  • Review and approve sessions and proposals against CME eligibility criteria.
  • Review the annual report and self-analysis of the CME Program and its effectiveness. Discuss this report and recommend improvements to the process, if needed.
  • Retrospectively, review each CME activity prepared by ARVO.
  • Review content of CME activities if requested and falls within expertise.
  • Provide general guidance and advice on clinical areas of interest and recommends expansion of program regarding topics and types of educational methodology utilized to deliver education to prospective participants.

In compliance with the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) guidelines, CME committee members may not be owners or employees of ACCME-defined ineligible companies



The committee meets during the ARVO Annual Meeting and conducts business via ARVOConnect, e-mail and conference call during the year.


How to Apply: The 2023 applications period closed on Jan. 11


To be considered for membership on the Committee, please submit an online application consisting of an application statement plus detail of past ARVO service and/or experience. It is recommended that individuals:

  • Invest time in their application
  • Make sure their member information is updated and accurate in ARVOConnect

The ARVO President-elect will make appointments in February/March for the term beginning in May 2022 (additional details will be announced at a later date).



Yannis Paulus, MD

Section: Retina
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor , Mich.
Term: 05/05/2022 - 05/31/2024


Natasha Kolomeyer, MD

Section: Glaucoma
Wills Eye Hospital
Philadelphia , Penn.
Term: 05/07/2020 - 04/27/2023


Thomas Ach, MD

Section: Retina
University Hospital Bonn - Dept. of Ophthalmology
Bonn , Germany
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/09/2024


Ron Adelman, MD, MPH, MBA

Section: Retina
Yale School of Medicine Ophthalmology and Visual Science Dept.
New Haven , Conn.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/09/2024


Srinivas Sangly, PhD, FARVO

Section: Cornea
Indiana University - Optometry Dept.
Bloomington , Ind.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/09/2024


Giulia Corradetti, MD

Section: Retina
Doheny Eye Institute - Retina Dept.
Los Angeles , Calif.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/09/2024


Parisa Emami, MD, MPH

Section: Immunology/Microbiology
UC Davis Eye Center
Sacramento , Calif.
Term: 05/252022 - 05/30/2025


Shilpa Kodati, MD

Section: Immunology/Microbiology
National Eye Institute
Bethesda , Md.
Term: 05/25/2022 - 05/30/2025


Wendy Liu, MD, PhD

Section: Visual Neuroscience
Stanford University
Palo Alto , Calif.
Term: 05/25/2022 - 05/30/2025


Mary Whitman, MD, PhD

Section: Eye Movements/Strabismus/Amblyopia/Neuro Ophthalmology
Boston Children's Hospital
Boston , Mass.
Term: 05/25/2022 - 05/30/2025

Trustee Liaison

Louis R. Pasquale, MD, FARVO

Harvard Medical School
Boston , Mass.
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/04/2023

Ex Officio

Maureen G. Maguire, PhD, FARVO

Section: Clinical/Epidemiologic Research
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia , Penn.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/09/2022

Executive Vice President

J. Mark Petrash, PhD, FARVO

Section: Lens
University of Colorado
Boulder , Colo.
Term: 05/20/2022 - 05/31/2027

Ex Officio

Iris M. Rush, CAE

Executive Director

Staff Committee Liaison

Cathy Conley

Director, Online Education