Ethics and Regulations in Human Research Committee



The Ethics and Regulations in Human Research Committee monitors reports, recommendations, regulations and other documents regarding the use of humans in biomedical research and changes that impact research conducted by ARVO members.


  • Review and recommend any policies or positions regarding regulations affecting human biomedical research.
  • Support the dialogue between ARVO researchers and relevant regulatory agencies to increase awareness of bioethical considerations in human research and the effect of potential regulations on the ability to address research questions.
  • Provide resources for eye and vision researchers who request guidance in this area.
  • Sponsor ARVO Annual Meeting workshops and develop other materials on relevant topics for ARVO members.
  • Report to the Board of Trustees at its regular meetings and assist with policy decisions.

The committee meets during the Annual Meeting and conducts business via ARVOConnect, email and conference call during the year.


How to Apply: The 2023 applications period closed on Jan. 11


To be considered for membership on the Committee, please submit an online application consisting of an application statement plus detail of past ARVO service and/or experience. It is recommended that individuals:

  • Invest time in their application
  • Make sure their member information is updated and accurate in ARVOConnect

The ARVO President-elect will make appointments in February/March for the term beginning in May 2024.



Siamak Yousefi, PhD

Section: Glaucoma
University of Tennessee Health Science Center - Ophthalmology Dept.
Memphis , Tenn.
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/09/2024


Jaime Tejedor, MD, PhD

Section: Eye Movements/Strabismus/Amblyopia/Neuro Ophthalmology
Hospital Ramón y Cajal/Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
Madrid , Spain
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/09/2024


Barbara Wirostko, MD, FARVO

Section: Glaucoma
Moran Eye Center, University of Utah
Salt Lake City , Utah
Term: 05/07/2021 - 05/08/2025


Ron Adelman, MD, MBA, MPH

Section: Retina
Yale University
New Haven , Conn.
Term: 05/20/2022 - 05/30/2025


Margaret DeAngelis, PhD

Section: Biochemistry/Molecular Biology
University at Buffalo/State University of New York
Buffalo , N.Y.
Term: 05/20/2022 - 05/30/2025


Jessica Jasien, PhD

Section: Glaucoma
League City , Tex.
Term: 05/20/2022 - 05/30/2025


Safal Khanal, OD, PhD, FAAO

Section: Visual Neuroscience
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham , Alabama
Term: 05/20/2022 - 05/30/2025


Mei Chen, PhD

Section: Retina
Queen's University Belfast
Belfast , Northern Ireland
Term: 04/27/2023 - 05/07/2026


Alon Harris, PhD, FARVO

Section: Glaucoma
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
New York , N.Y.
Term: 04/27/2023 - 05/07/2026


Rossen M. Hazarbassanov, MD, PhD

Section: Cornea
Sao Paulo , Brazil
Term: 04/27/2023 - 05/07/2026


Ingrid U . Scott, MD, MPH

Section: Retina
Penn State College of Medicine
Hershey , Penn.
Term: 04/27/2023 - 05/07/2026

Tien Wong

Section: Clinical/Epidemiologic Research
Singapore National Eye Centre
Term: 05/20/2022 - 05/31/2027

Ex Officio

SriniVas R. Sadda, MD, FARVO

Section: Retina
Doheny Eye Institute
Pasadena , Calif.
Term: 05/09/2024 - 05/08/2025

Executive Vice President

J. Mark Petrash, PhD, FARVO

Section: Lens
University of Colorado
Boulder , Colo.
Term: 05/20/2022 - 05/31/2027

Ex Officio

Iris M. Rush, CAE

Executive Director

Staff Committee Liaison

Julene Joy

Chief Marketing & Communications Officer