Finance Committee

Finance Committee

Committee Description

The role of the Finance Committee (FC) is to provide financial oversight for ARVO.

Committee Activities

  • Reviews financial reports, and the annual financial audit.
  • Reviews the annual budget prepared by the Executive Vice President and Executive Director. 
  • Reviews staff compensation structure and benefits offerings.
  • Reviews and evaluates the dues pricing structure and other income-producing activities for the purpose of financing budgeted activities.
  • Reviews periodically the investment portfolio and ARVO Reserve Fund Investment Policy.
  • Studies and recommends the investment of surplus funds and advises on condition of the funds.
  • Reports to the Board of Trustees at its regular meetings.


The FC is a Board committee that consists of no fewer than three ARVO Trustees, plus five ex officio Trustees: President, Executive Vice President, Immediate Past President, President-Elect, and Executive Director. The President shall serve as chair or appoint someone in his or her place. The ex officio members may not count toward the three voting Trustee members. Terms: The FC Trustee members shall serve until the end of their term on the Board of Trustees. This will apply similarly to the ex officio members.


The committee meets by conference call at least twice per year and conducts business via ARVOConnect and email.



Stephen C. Plugfelder, MD, FARVO

Section: Cornea
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston , Texas
Term: 05/03/2018 - 05/07/2020

Trustee Member

Jennifer J. Kang-Mieler, PhD, FARVO

Section: Retina
Illinois Institute of Technology
Chicago , Ill.
Term: 05/07/2015 - 05/07/2020

Trustee Member

Hans E. Grossniklaus, MBA, MD, FARVO

Section: Anatomy and Pathology
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta , Ga.

Ex Officio

Maureen Maguire, PhD, FARVO

Section: Clinical/Epidemiologic Research
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia , Penn.
Term: 05/07/2020 - 05/05/2023

Ex Officio

W. Daniel Stamer, PhD, FARVO

Section: Pharmacology/Physiology
Duke University
Durham , N.C.
Term: 05/07/2020 - 05/06/2021

Ex Officio

Justine R. Smith, FRANZCO, PhD, FARVO

Section: Immunology and Microbiology
Flinders University
Adelaide , South Australia
Term: 05/11/2017 - 05/05/2022

Ex Officio

Iris M. Rush, CAE

Executive Director

Staff Committee Liaison

Jason Spessard, MBA, CAE

Chief Financial Officer