Advance Speakers


Ruchika Batra, MBBS, FRCOphth

Consultant in Neuro-ophthalmology; Birmingham Neuro-ophthalmology Unit
University Hospitals Birmingham
Birmingham, England , United Kingdom

View Bio


Lisa Bélanger, PhD

Behavioural Change Expert, CEO

View Bio


Kapil Bharti, PhD

Senior Investigator, National Eye Institute; Adjunct Group Leader, NCATS
National Institutes of Health
Baltimore , Md

View Bio

Maj Gen (retd) Nick

Maj Gen (retd) Nick Caplin, CB

Blind Veterans UK
London, England , United Kingdon

View Bio

Michael F.

Michael F. Chiang, MD

Director, National Eye Institute
National Institutes of Health
Baltimore , Md

View Bio


Alastair Denniston, MA, MRCP, FRCOphth, PhD

Professor, University of Birmingham Director, INSIGHT
Health Data Research Hub for Eye Health
Birmingham, England , United Kingdon

View Bio

Jacque L.

Jacque L. Duncan, MD

Professor, Clinical Ophthalmology; Academic Director, Retina Service; Vice Chair, Clinical Trials
Department of Ophthalmology, University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco , Calif.

View Bio

Lucy E.

Lucy E. Kehinde PhD, OD, FAAO

Clinical Assistant Professor
University of Houston College of Optometry
Houston , Tex

View Bio


Renu Kowluru, PhD, FARVO

Professor and Director of Translational Research, Ophthalmology, Visual & Anatomical Sciences
Wayne State University
Detroit , Mich

View Bio


Sade Kosoko-Lasaki, MD, MSPH, MBA

Professor of Ophthalmology, Preventive Medicine & Public Health'; Associate Vice Provost Multicultural and Community Affairs
Creighton University
Omaha , Neb

View Bio


Aparna Lakkaraju, PhD

Professor, Department of Ophthalmology
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco , Calif

View Bio

Sunny E.

Sunny E. Ohia, PhD, FARVO

Professor of Pharmacology; College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Texas Southern University
Houston , Tex

View Bio


Tonia Rex, PhD, FARVO

Spencer and Marlene Hays Director in Translational Vision Research; Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences; Associate Vice Chair for Translational Research
Vanderbilt Eye Institute; Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville , Tenn

View Bio

Miguel C.

Miguel C. Seabra, MD, PhD

Nova Medical School
Lisbon , Portugal

View Bio

Peter Shah, BSc (Hons), MB ChB, FRCOphth, FRCP (Edin), MA (Distinction)

Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon, Honorary Professor of Glaucoma, Visiting Professor, University College London; Co-Director - Birmingham Institute for Glaucoma Research, Institute of Translational Medicine
University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust
Birmingham, England , United Kingdom

View Bio


Paul Sternberg, Jr., MD, FARVO

G. W. Hale Professor and Chair, Vanderbilt Eye Institute; Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, Vanderbilt School of Medicine
Nashville , Tenn

View Bio

Janey L.

Janey L. Wiggs MD PhD, FARVO

Paul Austin Chandler Professor of Ophthalmology
Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts Eye and Ear

View Bio

Terri L.

Terri L. Young, MD, MBA, FARVO

Peter A. Duehr Endowed Professor of Ophthalmology, Pediatrics, and Medical Genetics; Chair, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison , Wis

View Bio

Expert Session Hosts

Claude F.

Managing career expectations

Claude F. Burgoyne, MD, FARVO

Glaucoma Specialist Senior Scientist and Van Buskirk Chair for Ophthalmic Research Director, Optic Nerve Head Research Laboratory Legacy Devers Eye Institute, Legacy Research Institute Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology
Oregon Health Sciences University
Portland , Ore

View Bio

Switching paths: is it an option?

Thomas A. Ciulla, MD, MBA

Adjunct Clinical Professor of Ophthalmology
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis , Ind

View Bio

Getting your first grant

Timothy William Corson, PhD

Merrill Grayson Senior Chair in Ophthalmology, Showalter Scholar and Director of Basic and Translational Research in the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Eye Institute
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis , Ind

View Bio

Patricia A.

Tips for women in science

Patricia A. D'Amore, PhD, MBA, FARVO

Charles L. Schepens Professor of Ophthalmology, Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School, Associate Chief of Basic and Translational Research, Ophthalmology, Massachusetts Eye and Ear, Vice Chair of Basic and Translational Research, Department of Ophthalmology
Harvard Medical School
Boston , Mass

View Bio

Helena Prior

Building diversity

Helena Prior Filipe, MD, MMEd

Consultant of Ophthalmology, Master in Medical Education, Hospital Egas Moniz, West Lisbon Hospitals Center, Portugal, Department of Medical Education, Faculty of Medicine, University of Lisbon, Center of Interdisciplinar Investigation, Egas Moniz
Lisbon , Portugal

VIew Bio

Pearse A.

Building a successful career as a clinician-scientist

Pearse A. Keane, MD, FRCOphth

Professor of Artificial Medical Intelligence, University College London, Institute of Ophthalmology, UK, Consultant Ophthalmologist
Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
London, England , United Kingdom

View Bio

Lisa A.

Work-life balance and avoiding burnout

Lisa A. Ostrin, OD, PhD, FARVO

College of Optometry
University of Houston
Houston , Tex

View Bio


Science communication for beginners

Daisy Shu, PhD

Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Schepens Eye Research Institute of Mass Eye and Ear, Department of Ophthalmology
Harvard Medical School
Boston , Mass

View Bio