International Chapter Affiliate Committee

International Chapter Affiliate Committee


The International Chapter Affiliate Committee (ICAC) recommends policies for establishing new international chapter affiliates as well as strategies for building research collaborations; developing and promoting educational programming with international chapter affiliates; and responding to the interest and needs of eye and vision researchers around the world.


The consists of one representative from each Chapter Affiliate, from recommendations put forth by each Chapter Affiliate and appointed by the ARVO President-elect. The ex-officio (voting) positions of chair-elect, chair, and immediate past chair each carries a one-year term and is filled by the appointed representative from each Chapter Affiliate in turn, based on a rotation cycle in order of Chapter Affiliate establishment date. The Chapter Affiliates follow a leadership rotation cycle: Currently, the chair position is filled by the representative from ARVO's Israeli Chapter Affiliate (ISVER) and the chair-elect position is filled by the representative from ARVO's Brazilian Chapter Affiliate (BRAVO). 


The committee meets during the ARVO Annual Meeting and conducts business via ARVOConnect, by email and if needed by conference call during the year.